School of Rock – Week 8 – Melody

CC image Music Was My Refuge by Cindy Mc at Flickr

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness. – Maya Angelou

SUMMARY

  • Write your weekly summary here, last, at the end of the week…
    • Only one to two sentences
  • DELETE ALL OF MR. LE DUC’s INSTRUCTIONS, AFTER YOU ARE DONE

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

  • I just play bass so I don’t do lessons from Justin but I made good progress on Domination by Symphony X.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

  • Every culture used five notes in songs which are in the pentatonic scale
  • It isn’t important how many notes you use but how you use them
  • Notes are like rungs on a latter and the whole latter is a scale
  • a semitone is when you go from one note to the next half step up
  • a whole tone is when you go a whole step up from one note
  • Its easier for people to sing whole steps than it is for them to sing half steps

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • I have learned that it is really easy to right stuff on hookpad but only if you want to write piano. There is no option for changing the instrument that I saw.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • I found it interesting that famous people are super stressed and also that Elizabeth Gilbert is afraid of seaweed.

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

Melody Composition Terms

  • Theme – a longer more flowing melodic idea
  • Motive – a short rythmic idea
  • Period – 8 measures in a song
  • Phrase – 4 measures in a song
  • Antecedent (Question) Phrase – the first phrase in a period
  • Consequent (Answer) Phrase – the second phrase in a period
  • Scale Degrees
    • Tonic – one scale degree greates a feeling of stability and resolution
    • Supertonic, Mediant, Submediant – scale degrees with a moderate level of tension
    • Dominant, Subdominant, Leading Tone – several scale degrees createa high level of tension/need to resolve to tonic
  • Steps – any movement using half or whole steps
  • Leaps – any movement using intervals larger than a whole step
  • Conjunct motion – a melody built primarily out of steps
  • Disjunct motion – a melody built primarily out of leaps
  • Repetition – use repeated material to create a link between the two phrases of a period
  • Contrast – write two phrases that contain contrasting material to create tension and interest
  • Variation – half way between repetition and contrast; the two phrases includesome recognizable material and some varied material

Melody Resources

Mr. Le Duc’s Key of C Major Notes and Chords Chart (PDF)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • One thing I learned and enjoyed the most was the song that I have been working on in the practice room. The problem that I solved was time managment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *