Film Session 1 & 2 Production Project

Sound Design for Visual Media and Film Production students at dbc sound” by vancouverfilmschool is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

SUMMARY

Role

Sound Designer

Intention (SMART Goal)

By Oct. 12, as part of team # as Sound Designer, I will have evidence of having appropriate sounds and music for a film by following MrBrynnoth’s Tutorial for Session 1.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

  • 1:28 How did he begin making the music?
  • 2:08 Musical themes
  • 3:09 Musical goal
  • 3:48 Creative rewards
  • 4:58 What composers should look for in directors
  • 6:03 Spotting
  • 7:52 Spotting with directors
  • 8:22 Challenges
  • 9:14 Future projects
  • 10:29 Nurse band vs Bee band

Training Source(s)

  • 0:18 Example montage
  • 2:12 Risers
  • 2:30 Drones and Atmopsheres
  • 2:51 Slow Motion
  • 3:00 Time Lapse
  • 3:09 Transitional Elements
  • 3:27 Ambience
  • 3:57 Metronome use
  • 4:22 Sequencing explained
  • 8:51 The role of Sound Design
  • 10:13 “Tinkering”
  • 12:17 Importance of Sound Design

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

Zombie Movie

Skills Commentary

Team 4 Slideshow

I was the Sound Designer for this session and I mostly focused on getting comfortable with the equipment and the software. I wanted to get better at recording dialogue and leveling it with the background effects and music.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

Since we were a bit short on time I had to do most of the post-production audio stuff after school. I had to do a lot of leveling of the audio, especially the scream at the end.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated with Nate who did most of the editing to get an idea of where to put specific effects. I also communicated with Zayvier to get the scream which was a last minute decision.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used mostly Davinci Resolve and Cubase to edit the audio together because that’s what I have on my computer at home.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I developed good communication skills and developed a better understanding of the job and the equipment.

Reactions to the Final Version

Eric liked the Griddy and he said it was funny but also kind of creepy.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I liked the final project because it did its job, however, I wish I leveled the dialogue a little better and had more time to do original music.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Zayvier

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *