FILM Session 4 Year 2024 Production Project

SUMMARY

Role

Sound Design

Intention (SMART Goal) for the Session

By March 1, as part of TEAM 4 as Sound Designer, I will have evidence of writing music to a fight scene by following this tutorial for Session 4.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

This scene is the biggest inspiration for our film because of its legendary choreography. We aim to recreate the feeling of it in our film.

Secondary Source

Ben Burtt is a big inspiration for this project because of his incredible work on the sound in Star Wars. I will be using his work on Star Wars as a guide to help me do certain aspects of sound design.

Training Source(s)

  • 0:00 Intro
  • 0:42 About the film
  • 0:56 Watch the film clip
  • 2:10 About the scene
  • 2:27 Tempo and Sync events
  • 3:15 Suspenseful Music Cue
  • 5:22 Preset pack
  • 6:14 Drone Pads
  • 6:44 Small metal percussion
  • 7:22 Intro Strings and other sounds
  • 9:07 Action music cue
  • 9:51 Spicatto Strings
  • 12:27 Epic percussion

Project Timeline

Pre-production Milestones

  • Continue work on choreography
  • Begin research on the sound effects I will need
  • Begin work on a soundtrack

Production Milestones

  • Finish choreo
  • Start applying sound effects
  • Continue work on the soundtrack

Post-production

  • Apply all sound effects to the film
  • Finish music
  • Time all sound correctly to the film

Proposed Budget

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The FILM

Film

Skills Commentary

Slideshow

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

For one, I had to figure out how to export Garageband files so that I could edit them on a different computer. Also, I had to figure out how to mix music with sound effects since it was my first time putting in music of my own.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated with the whole team but I collaborated mostly with Zayvier in post during the whole editing phase.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used Garageband and Davinci Resolve.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

This is helpful because I learned more about time management, and general mixing and mastering.

Reactions to the Final Version

Keith said that the editing, the choreography, and the sound design were really good. He also recommended that in future films we use more close-ups and quick cuts.

Gavin said that he liked the costume design and that the music was really good.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I am really happy all things considered because I was able to make music that actually fit the vibe of the film.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Jacob

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *