GAME Session 4 Year 2024 Production Project

SUMMARY

Role

Sound Design

Intention (SMART Goal) for the Session

By March 1, as part of TEAM 6 as Sound Designer, I will have evidence of making a menu and shop music for the game by following this tutorial for Session 4.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Ghost of Tsushima is one of my favorite games of all time. The gameplay is incredible and the story is super captivating. Above all of that though, the sound design really showed through to me. The soundtrack was really cool and I hope to recreate something like that in the future.

Secondary Source

This video breaks down all of the different parts of one of the pieces in Ghost of Tsushima. He also talks about the effect certain stylistic choices have on the piece.

Training Source(s)

Project Timeline

Pre-production Milestones

  • Research game music from games I like
  • Make note of specific elements of music that I want to try to use
  • Begin work on the menu and shop music

Production Milestones

  • Shop Music done
  • Menu Music done
  • All songs applied to the game.

Post-production

  • Mix and Master shop music
  • Mix and Master menu music
  • Apply newer versions (if any) to the game

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The GAME

Game

Skills Commentary

I worked on primarily the music and wrote the battle themes and menu music from scratch.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I played around a lot with orchestration and dynamics and tried to base a lot of my music off of music from Ghost of Tsushima.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated with the entire team, especially Bryce and Arlo to ensure that the music was what they wanted.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used Garageband.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

This helped because I improved my teamwork and collaboration skills.

Reactions to the Final Version

Jim said that the game was really well made and that the only feedback he would give is that the camera was kind of weird in the corners.

Jacob said that it had very good mechanics that allowed for interactive playing.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I am very happy with the end result, I think the game turned out great and the progression of the music fits very well with the gameplay.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Jacob

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *